À propos

À BikeMaps, nous aimons le vélo autant que les cartes! Notre objectif est de tracer la carte de vos expériences cyclistes pour rendre le cyclisme plus sûr que jamais. Vous connaissez les risques dans votre secteur, et nous voulons que vous les mettiez sur la carte. Les renseignements que vous fournissez sur la sécurité à vélo, les dangers et les vols seront analysés à l’aide d’un système d’information géographique (SIG) et des statistiques pour que soient déterminés les principaux endroits où le cyclisme se fait sans risque, et là où il y a des dangers et des délits. Nous mettons constamment nos cartes et notre technologie à jour, alors n’hésitez pas à nous faire part de vos commentaires. Restez à l’affût des cartes à jour générées grâce à VOTRE expérience cycliste.

Coordonnées

Vous avez des questions ou des commentaires au sujet de bikemaps.org? Nous voulons les entendre!

Communiquez avec nous!

Foire aux questions

Pourquoi recueillez-vous ces renseignements?
Seulement environ 30 % des données sur les collisions de vélo sont recueillies, et il n’existe aucun système de signalement centralisé. BikeMaps.org est un outil unique qui permet aux membres du public de bâtir une base de données en cartographiant leur expérience.

Que ferez-vous avec les données?
L’équipe de BikeMaps.org analysera les données pour déterminer quels sont les facteurs qui influent sur la sécurité des cyclistes. Nous prévoyons aussi créer des outils pour aider les gens à planifier des trajets plus sécuritaires et transmettre ces renseignements aux outils de planification de votre secteur.

Comment le public et les municipalités peuvent-ils surveiller les secteurs qui les intéressent?
Inscrivez-vous et ouvrez une session. Vous pourrez ainsi définir dans l’outil une zone où vous circulez ou que vous administrez. Chaque fois que vous reviendrez sur le site, vous recevrez un avis si quelque chose a été signalé dans votre zone.

J’ai cliqué sur Soumettre, mais mon épingle n’est pas au bon endroit. Comment puis-je corriger cela?
Écrivez-nous à l’adresse info@bikemaps.org en précisant l’heure et l’emplacement de votre signalement. Nous déplacerons l’épingle pour vous.

Comment obtenez-vous les données sur le nombre de cyclistes?
Ces données sont fournies par Strava.

Les données de Strava ne concernent-elles pas seulement les cyclistes de loisir?
Strava estime qu’environ 40 % de ses données proviennent de cyclistes qui utilisent le vélo comme mode de transport, bien que cela varie selon la région.

Avez-vous une application?
Nous avons une application en anglais pour les appareils mobiles fonctionnant avec les systèmes iOS et Android. Les applications en français sont en voie d’élaboration.

Avez-vous un didacticiel vidéo?
Oui! Voici un lien vers une vidéo que l'un de nos adeptes a faite.

Comment puis-je participer?
Vous pouvez partager le site Web sur les médias sociaux, organiser une soirée de démonstration de la carte ou travailler bénévolement sur le SIG ou le développement. Si vous possédez un magasin de vélos ou une petite entreprise, vous pouvez faire de la publicité pour BikeMaps.org. Vous pouvez également nous aider à financer le projet de recherche pour que nous puissions développer la technologie et élargir l’étude. Ou peut-être votre groupe a-t-il des données de SIG qui pourraient améliorer la BikeMaps.org.

Publications

Consultez nos publications pour une description plus détaillée de notre projet.

Partenaires

Commanditaires

Partisans

Équipe

Dr. Trisalyn Nelson

Fondatrice – BikeMaps.org

Trisalyn Nelson

Trisalyn a créé BikeMaps.org tandis qu'elle était la Directrice du Laboratoire SPAR (un laboratoire de recherche et d'analyse des tendances spatiales) dans le département de géographie de l'Université de Victoria. Maintenant, à l'Université Arizona State, elle est la Directrice de l'École des Sciences Géographiques et de la Planification Urbaine. En tant que mère et une cycliste passionnée, Trisalyn voit BikeMaps.org contribuer à des conditions de vélo encore plus sûres, ce qui finira d'encourager plus de gens à faire du vélo.

Dr. Meghan Winters

Responsable de la recherche – Metro Vancouver

Meghan Winters

Experte en santé et en cyclisme, Meghan Winters est professeure adjointe à la faculté des sciences de la santé de l’Université Simon-Fraser. Elle travaille avec l’équipe de Cycling in Cities et mène des projets de recherche sur les services de vélopartage

Karen Laberee, MSc.

Directrice exécutive

Karen Laberee

Karen a fait partie de l'équipe BikeMaps.org depuis le début du projet en 2014. Elle a géré de nombreux aspects du projet et a été impliquée dans la sensibilisation et l'engagement communautaire . Avant la création de BikeMaps.org, Karen travaillait à SPAR Lab sur un large éventail de projets de recherche . Dans sa vie personnelle , Karen a acquis beaucoup d'expérience comme bénévole au sein de nombreux conseils qui soutiennent le sport amateur ou des initiatives communautaires . Mère d'une famille fanatique du vélo, Karen court souvent dans les sentiers de Victoria.

Michael Branion-Calles, MSc.

Étudiant au doctorat

Michael Branion-Calles

Récemment diplômé du SPAR Lab, Michael fait actuellement son doctorat à la Faculté des sciences de la santé de l’Université Simon-Fraser. Dans le cadre de ses études, Michael utilisera les données recueillies sur BikeMaps.org pour étudier les liens entre le transport actif, la santé et la sécurité. Il espère ainsi mettre à profit les données provenant du public afin de mieux comprendre les facteurs de la sécurité à vélo.

Dr. Colin Ferster, Ph.D.

Attaché de recherche au niveau postdoctoral

Dr. Colin Ferster

Colin est un attaché de recherche au niveau postdoctoral au Spatial Pattern Analysis and Research (SPAR) Lab. Fort de son expérience en géographie et en télédétection en foresterie, Colin s’intéresse principalement aux recherches sur les sources de renseignements innovatrices sur la géographie et à la science citoyenne. Dans son travail pour BikeMaps, il cherche à créer de nouveaux outils Web et à comprendre comment BikeMaps.org peut améliorer le cyclisme dans les villes. Amateur de vélo de route et de montagne depuis longtemps, Colin est très heureux de faire partie de l’équipe de BikeMaps parce qu’il rassemble ainsi quelques-unes de ses passions : les cartes, les applications, les gens et le vélo!

Jaimy Fischer

Assistant de recherche

Jaimy Fischer

Jaimy graduated from UVic Geography in 2016 and has been working as a research assistant for BikeMaps.org, as well as the IBIMS (Impacts of Bicycle Infrastructure in Mid-Sized Cities) and INTERACT (INTERventions, Actions, Research in Cities Team) projects (SFU). She will be starting her MSc with Dr. Meghan Winters in the Fall of 2018. When not mountain biking, Jaimy can be found in the rock climbing crags of Vancouver Island and beyond.

Avipsa Roy

PhD Student

Avipsa Roy

Avipsa is a recent graduate student and currently pursuing her PhD with Dr. Trisalyn Nelson at the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning at Arizona State University. As a part of her PhD, Avipsa will be using data collected on BikeMaps.org to investigate the link between active transport, health and safety in integration with Strava Metro data. Avipsa is interested to better understand cycling exposure and risk by means of latest data analytics and predictive modeling approaches using Python.

Calvin Thigpen

Post-Doctoral Researcher

Calvin Thigpen

Calvin is a postdoctoral researcher at Arizona State University. He received his PhD in Transportation Technology and Policy from the University of California, Davis, where his research focused on bicycling behavior and attitudes. For BikeMaps, Calvin has focused on expanding participation in the US, in Phoenix, AZ and elsewhere, and he is interested in using near-miss and crash data in an integrated safety model to more pro-actively assess dangerous road segments and intersections. Calvin has been an avid commute and part-time competitive bicyclist for the past decade, and the addition of his son, Koen, into his life has added new reasons to enjoy bicycling and to care about bicycling safety and access.

Moreno Zanotto, MSc.

Promotion et Communication, Vancouver

Moreno Zanotto

Moreno s’est joint à l’équipe de BikeMaps à l’automne 2015. Il habite Vancouver et coordonne les efforts de promotion et de communication de BikeMaps.org dans sa région. Diplômé de la Faculté des sciences de la santé de l’Université Simon-Fraser, Moreno a fait sa thèse sur le futur système de vélo en libre-service de sa ville. Selon lui, le cyclisme est une solution à une multitude de problèmes sanitaires, sociaux et environnementaux, et joue un rôle essentiel dans la création d’une société plus durable, égalitaire et inclusive.

Ms. Robyn Robertson, M.C.A

Présidente-directrice générale,Traffic Injury Research Foundation

Robyn Robertson

Robyn Robertson est présidente-directrice générale de la Traffic Injury Research Foundation. Auteure du modèle de transfert des connaissances de la fondation, elle passe la plupart de son temps à collaborer avec des professionnels et le public afin que les résultats de recherche soient pris en compte dans les pratiques opérationnelles des systèmes de transport, de justice pénale et de santé. Elle veut contribuer à la sécurité de tous les cyclistes en s’assurant que les données de BikeMaps.org sont utilisables pour étayer la prise de décisions à tous les niveaux.

Dr. Ward Vanlaar, Ph.D.

Chef de l'exploitation

Dr. Ward Vanlaar

Ward Vanlaar est le vice-président, Recherche, de la Traffic Injury Research Foundation. C’est lui qui dirige les recherches de BikeMaps.org rendues possibles grâce au financement de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Spécialisé dans les schémas d’évaluation et l’analyse statistique complexes, il croit qu’il est possible d’améliorer la qualité de vie saine à dessein et souhaite y contribuer en mettant sur pied des initiatives qui permettent à tout le monde de faire du vélo en toute sécurité, comme BikeMaps.org.

Dr. Marisela Mainegra Hing

Chercheuse

Dr. Marisela Mainegra Hing

Elle participe aux aspects de la sensibilisation, de la collecte de données et de l'analyse de données du projet de recherche BikeMaps.org, financé par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Elle est heureuse de contribuer à BikeMaps.org afin de rendre le cyclisme plus sûr et plus accessible pour tous les Canadiens.

Dr. Heather Woods-Fry

Associé de Recherche

Dr. Heather Woods-Fry

Heather sert de coordonnatrice pour la collecte de données qualitatives BikeMaps.org et est responsable de l'analyse des données qualitatives dans le cadre de l'évaluation du projet de recherche BikeMaps.org de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Heather croit en un style de vie équilibré et actif et estime que l'accessibilité d'outils tels que BikeMaps.org est essentielle pour promouvoir un cyclisme sécurisé pour tous les Canadiens.

Darren Boss, MSc.

Développeur

Karen Laberee

Darren completed his MSc in the SPAR lab in 2017. He continues his involvement with BikeMaps maintaining the website and mobile apps. When not coding away, Darren enjoys mountain biking, skiing and hiking.

Ben Jestico, MSc.

Ancien étudiant

Ben Jestico

Ben a été le premier étudiant diplômé de BikeMaps.org et a joué un rôle dans la sensibilisation réussie dans les premiers jours de BikeMaps.org. Pour ses recherches de sa maîtrise en sciences, Ben a comparé les données de compter manuelle les cyclistes à ceux qui sont produits par des applications mobiles qui emploient un système de localisation GPS tels que Strava (http://bit.ly/2af2Cpc). La recherche de Ben a également utilisé les données recueillies sur BikeMaps.org pour étudier les incidents aux intersections des sentiers à usages multiples.

Conner Leverett

Ancien étudiant

Conner Leverett

Conner completed his BSc. in Geomatics at the University of Victoria. He enjoys programming, cartography, and understanding spatial and aspatial relationships. Conner enjoys surfing and camping. Conner is now working at Lattitude Geographics

Taylor Denouden, BSc.

Ancien étudiant, développeur

Taylor Denouden

A graduate of the Geomatics program at the University of Victoria, Taylor is the developer behind the BikeMaps website. Taylor worked at the Hakai Institute in Victoria, and he is currently pursuing graduate studies at the University of Waterloo.

About

At BikeMaps we love biking as much as we love maps! Our goal is to map your cycling experience to make biking safer. You know your local cycling trouble spots and we want you to map them. Your knowledge of cycling safety, hazards, and even bike thefts will be analyzed using GIS and statistics to identify hot spots of cycling safety, risk, and crime. We are constantly updating our maps and technology, so send us feedback. And stay tuned for updated safety maps generated from YOUR biking experience.

Contact

Do you have questions, comments, or feedback about bikemaps.org? We would love to hear from you!

Contact us!

FAQ

Why are you collecting this information?
Only ~30% of bike collision data are collected and there is no centralized reporting system. BikeMaps.org is a unique tool that let's citizens build a database by mapping their riding experience.

What will you do with the data?
The BikeMaps.org team will analyze data to determine factors that influence cycling safety. We also have plans to build tools to help people plan safer routes and to transfer these to planners in your area.

How can citizens and municipalities monitor areas of interest to them?
By registering and logging in you will be able to trace a riding or management region of interest using the tool. Each time you login you will be alerted to recent mapping in your region by the tool.

I clicked submit, but noticed that my pin isn't in the right location. How can I fix it?
Email us at info@bikemaps.org with details about the time and location of your report and we will move it.

Where do you get the rider volume data?
The data on where cyclists are riding has been provided by Strava.

Isn’t Strava data only where recreational cyclists are riding?
Strava labs estimates that 40% of its rider data are commuter traffic, though this likely varies by region.

Do you have an App?
Yes! We have both an iOS app and an Android app.

Do you have a video tutorial?
Yes! Here’s a link to a video that one of our followers made.

How can I get involved?
You can share the website on social media, host a mapping demo night, or volunteer to do GIS or development. If you own a bike store or small business, you can advertise BikeMaps.org. We are also on the lookout for more research funding to further develop the technology and expand the study. Or, perhaps your group has GIS data that may improve BikeMaps.org.

Publications

Check out our published work for a more in depth description of our project

Partners

Sponsors

Supporters

Team

Dr. Trisalyn Nelson

Founder of BikeMaps.org

Trisalyn Nelson

Trisalyn founded BikeMaps.org while heading the Spatial Pattern Analysis and Research (SPAR) Lab in the Department of Geography at the University of Victoria. Now, at Arizona State University, she is the Director of the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning. As a mom and an avid cyclist, Trisalyn sees BikeMaps.org contributing to even safer cycling conditions, which will ultimately lead to more people biking.

Dr. Meghan Winters

Metro Vancouver Research Lead

Meghan Winters

Health and cycling expert, Dr. Meghan Winters, is an assistant professor in the Faculty of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University. She works with the Cycling in Cities team and has research projects on public bikeshare, cycling safety, and how changes in the built environment affect the health and mobility of older adults and youth. Meghan heads the BikeMaps.org research for Metro Vancouver.

Karen Laberee, MSc.

Executive Director

Karen Laberee

Karen has been part of the BikeMaps.org team since the project began in 2014. She has managed many aspects of the project and has been heavily involved in community outreach and engagement. Prior to the creation of BikeMaps.org, Karen worked at SPAR Lab on a wide variety of research projects. In her personal life, Karen has gained considerable experience volunteering on numerous boards that support amateur sports or community initiatives. In addition to being mom to a bike-crazy family, Karen can be found running the trails around Victoria.

Moreno Zanotto, MSc.

Communication and Outreach, Metro Vancouver

Moreno Zanotto

Moreno joined the BikeMaps team in Fall of 2015. He is based in Vancouver and helps coordinate BikeMaps.org promotion and community outreach efforts in the region. A graduate of SFU’s Faculty of Health Sciences, Moreno completed his thesis research on the impending Vancouver public bike share system. Moreno views cycling as a solution to many health, social, and environmental problems, and as the centrepiece of a more sustainable, egalitarian, and inclusive society.

Michael Branion-Calles, MSc.

PhD. Student

Michael Branion-Calles

Michael is a recent SPAR Lab graduate and currently a PhD student at the Faculty of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University. As a part of his PhD, Michael will be using data collected on BikeMaps.org to investigate the link between active transport, health and safety. Michael is looking forward to leveraging the power of crowd-sourced data in order to better understand cycling safety.

Dr. Colin Ferster, Ph.D.

Post-Doctoral Research Associate

Dr. Colin Ferster

Colin is a post-doctoral researcher in the SPAR lab. With a background in geography and remote sensing of forests, his main research interests are innovative sources of geographic information and citizen science. He is working on developing BikeMaps.org tools and understanding how people can use BikeMaps.org to improve cycling in our cities. A long-time city and mountain biker, Colin is happy to be part of the BikeMaps.org team because it combines some of his favorite things: maps, apps, people, and bikes!

Jaimy Simmonds

Research Assistant

Jaimy Simmonds

Jaimy is an undergraduate research assistant in SPAR Lab at UVic. Jaimy will be finishing her undergraduate degree this spring and starting an MSc with SPAR in the fall of 2016. When not mountain biking or cycling around Victoria, Jaimy can be found in the rock climbing crags of Vancouver Island and beyond.

Conner Leverett

Research Assistant

Conner Leverett

Conner is working on his Geomatics undergraduate degree at UVic. He is very excited for the opportunity to work in the SPAR Lab and on BikeMaps. He enjoys programming, cartography, and understanding spatial and aspatial relationships. When not in the SPAR lab or doing homework, Conner enjoys surfing and camping.

Ms. Robyn Robertson, M.C.A

TIRF - President & CEO

Robyn Robertson

Robyn Robertson is the President & CEO of the Traffic Injury Research Foundation. She is the author of TIRF's knowledge translation model, and spends much of her time working with practitioners and the public to incorporate research findings in operational practices across transportation, criminal justice and health systems. She wants to contribute to the usability of BikeMaps.org data to inform decision-making at all levels to keep cyclists safe.

Dr. Ward Vanlaar, Ph.D.

TIRF - Chief Operating Officer

Dr. Ward Vanlaar

Ward Vanlaar is the Vice President Research of the Traffic Injury Research Foundation. Ward serves as the lead of the BikeMaps.org research efforts made possible through funding from the Public Health Agency of Canada. Ward specializes in complex evaluation designs and statistical analysis. He believes in 'living healthy by design' and wants to contribute to this goal by making safe cycling more widely available through initiatives like BikeMaps.org.

Dr. Marisela Mainegra Hing

TIRF - Research Scientist

Dr. Marisela Mainegra Hing

Dr. Marisela Mainegra Hing is a research scientist with the Traffic Injury Research Foundation and she is involved in the outreach, data collection and data analysis aspects of the BikeMaps.org Public Health Agency of Canada research project. She is happy to be contributing to BikeMaps.org as a means to make cycling safer and more accessible for all Canadians.

Dr. Heather Woods-Fry

TIRF - Research Associate

Dr. Heather Woods-Fry

Dr. Heather Woods-Fry is a Research Associate with the Traffic Injury Research Foundation. Heather serves as a coordinator for the collection of qualitative BikeMaps.org data, and is responsible for analyzing the qualitative data as part of the evaluation of the BikeMaps.org Public Health Agency of Canada research project. Heather believes in living a balanced and active lifestyle, and feels that the accessibility of tools such as BikeMaps.org is essential to promote safe cycling for all Canadians.

Ben Jestico, MSc.

Alumni

Ben Jestico

Ben was BikeMaps.org’s first graduate student and was instrumental in the successful outreach in the early days of BikeMaps.org. For his MSc research, Ben compared ridership data collected manually to those using crowdsourced apps such as Strava (http://bit.ly/2af2Cpc). Ben’s research also used data collected on BikeMaps.org to study incidents at multiuse trail and road intersections.

Darren Boss, MSc.

Developer

Karen Laberee

Darren completed his MSc in the SPAR lab in 2017. He continues his involvement with BikeMaps maintaining the website and mobile apps. When not coding away, Darren enjoys mountain biking, skiing and hiking.

Taylor Denouden, BSc.

Alumni, Developer

Taylor Denouden

A graduate of the Geomatics program at the University of Victoria, Taylor is the developer behind the BikeMaps website. Taylor now works at the Hakai Institute in Victoria.